Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Thread on beer barrel (Read 360 times)
Kurtcat

Harris Filters

Sky, Whitechapel, London
Thread on beer barrel
Jan 28th, 2018 at 10:53am

Hi there, i'm totally new to this whole beer making journey but have embarked on it after my brother bought me a kit at Christmas.
My question is one regarding barreling the beer.

I've bought a Wilco pressure barrel and prior to sterilising it i water tested it which showed up a leak from the top.

I spent some time removing plastic burs and sanding smooth and then with some petroleum jelly around seal and thread retested and it seems ok.

Why petroleum jelly though? would not PTFE tape around thread produce a better more assured seal?

Also, without sloshing the beer around the barrel how can i be sure that it is sealed ok now?

Maybe all rookie questions so apologise in advance Huh

IP Logged

Fermenting Tom
Forum Administrator

I'll 'ave anoter glarsh
!!

Quarry Bank
Re: Thread on beer barrel
Reply #1 - Jan 28th, 2018 at 4:15pm

Kurt, Fill it with water to recommended level, give it a quick squirt of Co2 and listen for gas escaping, roll it around on it's side slowly on kitchen work surface observing for tell tale leaks.
If still leaking take it back to Wilco .
Wink Wink
F.T.

Trustee/Director--Dudley C V S //  Hon. President--Parkinsons UK Dudley Branch //
Member-- Stourbridge Sons of Rest // MRAWF Wine Judge  // Member Coeliac U.K.-// Dudley Wine Circle .
WWW Fermenting Tom James T. Keys fermentingtom  
IP Logged

Dexter

Tally-Ho!

Belfast
Re: Thread on beer barrel
Reply #2 - Feb 5th, 2018 at 12:21pm

Hi Kurt, and welcome.