Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
What Next and When?!? (Read 254 times)
Rozzidrozzi

Harris Filters

Lairg, Highlands, Scotland
What Next and When?!?
Oct 11th, 2018 at 2:36pm

Hi Folks and firstly, thank you for accepting me as a Forum member. Like most folk who join I am new to Brewing and have embarked on a bit of Cider making.

I have made a 25ltr barrel with pure Bramley Apples,† 1 x sachet of Cider Yeast and 1250g of sugar, its been fermenting at around 21 degrees for about 10 days and is gently fizzing on top (i take it thatís the normal fermentation) its not a rapid release of bubbles via the airlock but steady.

I have also crushed and pressed a heap of Crab apples and a variety i can't identify (reddish stipes on yellow with a pink flesh) and combined them to make three 5 lrt containers with again Cider yeast and 250g of sugar these have only just been done.

My question is what do i do next and when? I am assuming that i do nothing until fermentation has finished? Do i then stir/shake them, do I bottle with added sugar, do i add Campden tablets?

Apologies for all the questions but us annoying Newbies have to start somewhere!

IP Logged

ohbeary
Wine Expert

Drink problem?, I fall
over, s'not a problem!

Rosudgeon, Cornwall.
Re: What Next and When?!?
Reply #1 - Oct 11th, 2018 at 10:18pm

Rozzi, When fermentation has ceased allow the ciders to settle out and clear, when you can see the bottom of the brew rack off carefully avoiding any sediment(vessels with taps make this a lot easier) they will still be "live"  and can be bulk primed or not before bottling, if bulk priming only use 1/4 - 1/2 tsp sugar per litre this will avoid madly foaming bottles when opening.