Send Topic Print
What wash can I use? (Read 155 times)
A1Smiley

Harris Filters

BT UK
What wash can I use?
Jul 9th, 2019 at 1:51pm

Hi,

I've a Still Airstill and been using it for over a year, but only usedStill Spirits Pure (Triple Distilled) Turbo System (Turbo Clear/Carbon/Yeast)

I've seen other kits on the market for making the wash.  I'm not technical, so please be kind to me.  When I distill my wash, the alcohol comes out at between 50% to 54% and never ever higher.  This is before adding water.

I'd like to try a different wash to see if I get a better alcohol percentage. Please can someone advise/explain which ones to try, how to clean and how much alcohol to come from a 25l wash.

Also, I don't know if it was on here or another forum, but someone said he . draws off 1500ml instead of 800ml. Can this be true or BS?

And, I put the wash through the still once as directed by my local shop, but I notice some of yous put it through 2 - 3 times to get a higher alc.  Is this true and don't you end up with less liquid?

IP Logged

ohbeary
Wine Expert

Drink problem?, I fall
over, s'not a problem!

Rosudgeon, Cornwall.
Re: What wash can I use?
Reply #1 - Jul 9th, 2019 at 11:50pm

Smiley, or may I call you A1, I'm not a distiller, just a chef, there are many ways to cook a goose! you could use EC118/Champagne yeast to ferment your wash, it will not be as fast as turbo yeast but cleaner, I would still add the liquid charcoal for cleanup of undesirable elements and a two part finings for clearing; stick to 800ml, dilute to 40% and distill again for purity, a second dilution to 40% and a third distillation and dilution for a really clean product, 40% for adding flavours or 60% for preserving fruits i.e. Rumtopf, if making Limoncello you would need 80 to 90% abv as lemons have a lot of water. Wink